Kiwi Polemicist

July 31, 2009

• Sue Bradford is proud of her criminal convictions

The comments button is at the bottom right of this post.

Freethinker, who comments on Kiwiblog, saw my earlier post that has a video of Sue Bradford telling lies and asked if I had any information regarding her criminal record. Sadly I have only found a broad picture, and that she’s proud of her criminal convictions (maybe that’s why she wants to give parents who smack a criminal record).

In her own words…

SUE BRADFORD (Green) : I am taking the opportunity to speak briefly in the debate tonight because I am aware, as several speakers have already pointed out, that I am one of a select number of MPs who are personally affected by the Criminal Records (Clean Slate) Act, which resulted from my colleague Nandor Tanczos’ member’s bill. I have had to bite my tongue a few times during this debate, as, in fact, I am one of an even more select few in the House who has no desire to wipe any of my convictions from the public record. My criminal record started when I had just left school and was taking part in anti – Vietnam War demonstrations in Auckland, and there is no question that it hampered my career options earlier on, and later adversely affected applications for bail and sentencing outcomes in court. However, and at the same time, I have never resiled from what my convictions stood for in my personal and political life, whether they arose from the anti-war demos in the 1960s, the 1981 Springbok tour mobilisation, nuclear-free and women’s liberation campaigns, or later on from actions taken with the unemployed workers movement. I have no desire to be clean-slated, and I am just as proud of my convictions as I am of the other parts of my CV, like university degrees or job histories. (source)

So, a person who has sworn to uphold the laws of New Zealand is proud of breaking those laws. Am I imagining things, or that hypocrisy? Hypocrisy and the aforementioned lying are both forms of dishonesty.

On another day Bradford said

SUE BRADFORD (Green) : I stand here in Parliament this evening to make one last plea to my fellow MPs—whatever political party they come from—to consider having the courage to cast a vote in favour of the decriminalisation of prostitution.
[…]
How can the arresting of women empower them? How can putting them through the degrading processes of police custody and a court appearance, followed by the appearance of a conviction on their criminal record—which will dog them for the rest of their lives—free them or empower them? In what way will the arresting of women make it easier for women to exit the sex industry when a prostitution-related conviction is one of the major barriers to future employment or career advancement?

I do not know how many of the feminists and women MPs who oppose this bill have been through multiple experiences of strip-searching, arrest, imprisonment, police violence, and conviction, as I have. I would like to assure them that these are not experiences, in any context, that are likely, in any way, to improve one’s self-esteem or ability to enter straight, upside employment. (source)

I would like to assure them that these are not experiences, in any context, that are likely, in any way, to improve one’s … ability to enter straight, upside employment.” So that’s why she found employment in parliament.

~~~~~

A democracy is not a meritocracy, and having democracy means having criminals in power. This is explained in my post The problem with democracy – part one.

~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

