Kiwi Polemicist

January 5, 2009

Update to “Police checkpoints breach the civil liberties of the many to catch the few”

In my earlier post I wrote about drink-driving checkpoints, which I believe are a breach of civil liberties. Not only are they a breach of civil liberties, they’re downright rude, as illustrated by this example from Sideswipe:

Police in Hobart, Tasmania, set up a random drink-driving checkpoint at the only carpark exit from an all-night New Year’s Eve Falls Festival party. Some concert-goers were forced to queue for more than six hours as police conducted a drink-driving blitz outside the venue, but police defended their totals of 31 drunk, 956 sober.

So, 987 people had their civil liberties breached and (in my humble opinion) were illegally detained for up to six hours in order to catch 31 drink-drivers. The figures speak volumes: even after a New Year’s Eve party – and it is safe to assume that it wasn’t a Temperance Union party – only 3.14% of the drivers fell within the state definition of drunk. One drunk driver is one too many, but it’s not exactly a crime wave.

A police state is a place where it is possible for the police to stop and check every car driver leaving a party.

What do you think about police checkpoints?

**********

Click here for an update to this post.

Click here to read about military police on the highways of America.

4 Comments »

  1. I find Police check points frustrating but had never connected them the Police State idea.

    You are right of course we have steadily allowed the Police State to grow and it did with determined speed under 9 years of Labour – The Police State concept puts state first rather than Family and People.

    We have seen 300,000+ Children taken from one half of their Families here in New Zealand under the same philosophy

    Thanks for tying the ideas together for me as we recover from PC and Spin doctored Femifasist dogma in media etc.

    Up on the Ration Shed Communique

    Onward – Jim

    Comment by Jim Bailey -/-JimBWarrior-/-HandsOnEqualParent — January 6, 2009 @ 7:14 am

  2. I was explaining to my entire family, in the van with me at the time, why such random stops are outrageous breeches of civil liberties and had just announced that if I were ever stopped, I would not co-operate. Thirty seconds later, turning a corner, there was a road-block. The officer asked if I’d been drinking. I said no. He then invaded my personal space with the device he wanted me to talk into. I brushed it away and said I would not talk to the device because, not only did he assume I was a liar but he had also stopped me from going about my lawful business on the further assumption that I was guilty of being drunk in charge of a motor vehicle. He repeated his request that I talk to the device. I again refused. He then said I had a choice: speak to the device or spend the night in jail. I pointed out that he had just further illustrated my point: his threats were heavy-handed and over-the-top. His only response was, “Sir, that’s the law.” His partner, a big burly guy, was now coming over, my daughter was having kittens in the back seat over this altercation, so I caved in and told the device I spoke to it unwillingly and under duress. Not registering any booze, the cop waved me on. Police State, alright.

    [KP: a response to this comment can be found here:
    https://kiwipolemicist.wordpress.com/2009/01/09/a-readers-experience-at-a-police-checkpoint/%5D

    Comment by Craig — January 9, 2009 @ 9:45 am

  3. […] police checkpoint I have previously written a couple of posts about police checkpoints (click here and here), you know, the ones where they do an illegal detain-and-seize to check if you’ve […]

    Pingback by A reader’s experience at a police checkpoint « Kiwi Polemicist — January 9, 2009 @ 8:19 pm

  4. […] here and here for updates to this […]

    Pingback by Police checkpoints breach the civil liberties of the many to catch the few « Kiwi Polemicist — January 13, 2009 @ 12:25 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

